The roller coaster

Now, I’ve heard from quite a few of my mummy friends that the first three months are the most challenging; the tears, the tantrums, the sleepless nights…

To me, they sounded like a pretty accurate summary of my first trimester! They were, of course, referring to the first few months with a newborn but I could relate.

Don’t get me wrong, finding out I was pregnant was one of the happiest days of my life. When I saw that one life-changing word ‘Pregnant’ unequivocally displayed in the test window, I was elated.

Then I discovered Google. And shortly after, the nerve inducing tests at the OB clinic; first they measured my hcg and progesterone levels. Twice. To make sure the pregnancy was viable they said. Cue the first of many freak outs…

Now, I’m a natural-born worrier. I could take it to the Olympics and bring back gold. There are, however, some women who sail through pregnancy without a care; the type you see on the front of pregnancy magazines, looking serene. And of course some of those women are faking it.

I decided to start this blog to share an honest account of the highs and lows I’ve experienced on the rollercoaster that is pregnancy. It will hopefully reassure other nervous nellies out there that you’re not alone, that there’s no right or wrong thing to feel, and occasionally to make you smile!

 

Leave a Reply

